Today I ran my first race. My goal was to run the whole thing, and I came pretty darn close–out of 36 minutes, I walked for about 30 seconds. Honestly, I probably would have kept walking if T hadn’t cheerleaded me that last mile (the race was a 5k which is 3.1 miles. which is the farthest I have ever run.)

I wanted to add a little more info, for my own reference if nothing else. My first mile I ran way too fast. I knew that I should stay at my own pace, yet with all of the people passing me, I just couldn’t go slow enough. Which meant that I was exhausted by half-way and at about 2.8 miles I really didn’t know if I could make it. It was really, really hard. There is no way that I could have done this before starting the couch to 5k program, but I am a little impatient it waiting for it to get easier. I am thinking about doing another race maybe in February or March, the same distance to see if the extra few months of running make it easier. I am hopeful that they will.

I am knitting, but no pictures so far–it is a top down raglan cardigan out of malabrigo. I am on the waist shaping, and so far it seems to be fitting, but I can’t seem to get a decent photo. hopefully soon.

Here is the race at the beginning, and then me and T afterwards.

